How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

General ShopSite user discussion

How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:11 am

Our ISP moved their users off one server to server - they were retiring the old server. Shopsite worked fine afterward.
Today I looked at the Hosting Service Configuration fields and the linux paths for the Data, Output, Media and Digital Download directory are the old paths. The symbolic links in the shopsite directories are also pointed to the old paths.

I checked the old path on the new server and looks like the ISP copied everyone's website directories to the new server, probably so apps like Shopsite will still work without a re-install. The database, etc has the current date so this old path is live.

How can I update these paths in Shopsite? In the interface those fields are grayed out so they are probably set during the install. Our domain name, etc. did not change. Can I re-run wwwinstall.cgi and edit these paths without losing any current data?
We are on Shopsite Pro 11 sp1 r2.

Or will running config.cgi allow a reconfiguration?

OZN
Last edited by ihssaplesk on Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby loren_d_c » Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:43 am

To change the file paths you will have to edit the store's [storeid].aa file ShopSite backoffice cgi directory (usually named 'ss' or 'bo').

-Loren
loren_d_c
 
Posts: 2506
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:02 pm
Location: Anywhere

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:25 pm

Thank you for the information!
The symbolic link for [storeid].aa in one of the two bo cgi directories is also going to the old server path so will need to change that link and the other symbolic links.
Will run the Shopsite v12 upgrade first then fix the old server paths, unless changing them first would be the better route to take??
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby loren_d_c » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:37 pm

Running the ShopSite upgrade will not change any of the existing symbolic links. If you need to change symbolic links, then you generally need to have shell access on the server, then you can delete the old symbolic link and then create a new one using the 'ln' command something like this:

ln -s /path/to/real/file

Because not everyone is going to have shell access to their hosting account to be able to run that command, the usual store move method is to install the store as new on the new server, then copy the contents of the original data directory into the new store's data directory.

-Loren
loren_d_c
 
Posts: 2506
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:02 pm
Location: Anywhere

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:54 am

Thanks again for your response. I had wondered if the paths could be changed during the upgrade but figured not.
I will do the upgrade then edit the paths and change the symbolic links (I do have shell access.)
The next time our ISP moves websites to another server I will install the store as new and copy the data directory into the new server's data directory, as you suggested. Thanks again!!
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:00 pm

Yesterday:
I updated all the SymLinks and moved the database to the correct account path. Verified ShopSite was OK (except for UPS API issue, which is why we are upgrading to version 12.)

Ran the ShopSite v12 sp3 r4 upgrade. No errors on screen during the install, other than on Shopsite Update check screen a FAIL for Checking var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs/images/ss for permission to write. I manually tarred the image files to that directory to update it.

Tested the cart. Had problem identical to our other website when upgrading ShopSite (issue not yet resolved):

After adding an item to the cart the order.cgi loaded, item was in the cart, UPS shipping pricing listed but a large gray transparent block filled most of the browser area and the Shopsite loading icon was spinning with "Processing..." under it. The cart never proceeds further. We found if an item that has FREE FREIGHT or ships by truck (no freight calculations are done) then the order processes successfully.

Reversed the upgrade.

Today:
Upgraded to v11 sp2 r5 to verify if this is a v12 bug but had the same result with spinning browser icon and "Processing..." text.

The Shopsite Pro v11 sp1 r2 on our website did not have this problem. So is there a possible bug between that version and last version 11? After an upgrade does one need to "Re-Register UPS"?
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:43 pm

The post above is from today, 11/01/2017, Wednesday. Had started asking a question on 30th then decided to do research first.

The error log shows these errors. I changed the website name below.
[Wed Nov 01 13:27:30.981084 2017] [cgi:error] [pid 20996:tid 140594143786752] [client 216.112.28.163:37852] script not found or unable to stat: /var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs/cgi-bin/scd/images, referer: http://www.mysite.com/cgi-bin/scd/order.cgi?rd=1&storeid=*14a7a48acabb51e6034ec6e4&sbid=SSMSB1509372751.18252&redirect=yes

Hmm. Our site has no /cgi-bin/scd/images directory. ShopSite images are in our /images/ss directory.
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby loren_d_c » Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:56 pm

No after an upgrade you shouldn't need to re-register UPS.

First, are you sure that /var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs/images/ss/ is the equivalent directory for the 'ShopSite Images URL' that you can see in Preferences > Hosting Service?

Also, as far as manually untarring goes, you wouldn't want to untar it directly in this directly, it would go in the en-US subdirectory.

I've upgraded many stores from 11 to 12 and haven't had these issues upgrading the image directory, so I doubt there is a general bug with all upgrades, it's more likely that this is something with the way this particular store or hosting account are configured.

-Loren
loren_d_c
 
Posts: 2506
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:02 pm
Location: Anywhere

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:38 pm

Thanks, once again, for your post. Answers to your questions:

1. First, are you sure that...
"Mysite" is phoney below but I left the real subdirectory names as is (/images/ss is really /images/ozs):

From Hosting Services screen:
ShopSite Images URL: http://www.mysite.com/images/ozs

From wwwinstall.aa:
image_url: http://www.mysite.com/images/ozs
image_dir: /var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs/images/ozs

From [storeid].aa in ShopSite directory:
image_url: http://www.mysite.com/images/ozs
image_dir: /var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs/images/ozs

2. Also, as far as manually untarring...
Yes, I did untar them to /var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs/images/ozs/en-US
Directories in en-US untared:
backgrounds
buttons
css
dashboard
etc.

3. it's more likely that this is something with the way this particular store or hosting account are configured.
Both websites that have the issue are on a Plesk server.
All the files and directories have a Group of psacln.

Since the ShopSite v11 works OK now on that Plesk server, I don't know what configs would affect the upgrade in that way. Have checked files, permissions, etc. that I think could be the culprit but not found the cause yet. I could PM you the phpinfo() for the server if that would help. Could some hard-coded paths have crept into the upgrade code? When installing app's I purposely do not use the default directory names to thwart bots and malware that might try to take advantage of vulnerabilities found later in software.

Tomorrow will try installing next minor patch/upgrade up from our current one and see if the problem exists afterward. Have done the upgrade and reversal so often now that I created a shell script to speed up the backup of ShopSite dirs and reversal.

* * * BUT, the main issue is not the images warning during the install but that the Shopsite cart screen hangs (browser loading icon spinning and spinning) AFTER the install when customers try to order. Same problem occurring on BOTH our websites for which we paid the upgrade to version 12.

I have another cart running ShopSite Pro v11 on our co-locate server. Will upgrade that to the next v11 patch rev and see if the ShopSite cart hangs when it tries to process an order after the upgrade.
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:05 pm

Tomorrow (Friday or Saturday) will upgrade the other cart (not one we have v12 upgrade) to last v11 version. No time today.
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How to Update Hosting Service Configs?

Postby ihssaplesk » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:17 pm

Today this ShopSite was upgraded to ShopSite® Pro 12 sp3 r4 THANKS to the ShopSite techs (earlier in the week) determining why our other website was hanging after the upgrade. This cart also hung after today's upgrade until we changed a <body onload> tag that was loading the CheckIt() function from a .php file for our custom shopping cart that included that file [-- INCLUDE file.php PROCESS --].
Thank you for your help, ShopSite! Very much appreciated!!!
ihssaplesk
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 am


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests