removing the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping cart

General ShopSite user discussion

removing the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping cart

Postby Rodney Blackwell » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:25 pm

Is it possible to remove the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping cart
screen.

I have flat rate shipping enabled, so I don't need that zip code box and it
seems to clutter the checkout screen.

--
Rodney
Rodney Blackwell
 

Re: removing the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping c

Postby loren_d_c » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:40 pm

Do you have Tax-by-zip enabled (see Commerce Setup -> Sales Tax)? If so,
then the zip is required to calculate the sales tax.

-Loren



Rodney Blackwell wrote:
Is it possible to remove the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping cart
screen.

I have flat rate shipping enabled, so I don't need that zip code box and it
seems to clutter the checkout screen.

--
Rodney

loren_d_c
 
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:02 pm
Location: Anywhere

Re: removing the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping c

Postby Rodney Blackwell » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:44 pm

I just double checked and I have it set as "Use Shopper Selected Tax", which
I thought meant that the shopper just selects "I Live in California" or "I
Live Outside California".

The shopping cart screen is showing both the shopper select dropdown box and
the zip code box.

"Loren" <loren_d_c@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:d8srkl$ts2$1@eval.shopsite.com...
Do you have Tax-by-zip enabled (see Commerce Setup -> Sales Tax)? If so,
then the zip is required to calculate the sales tax.

-Loren



Rodney Blackwell wrote:
Is it possible to remove the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping
cart screen.

I have flat rate shipping enabled, so I don't need that zip code box and
it seems to clutter the checkout screen.

--
Rodney
Rodney Blackwell
 

Re: removing the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping c

Postby loren_d_c » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:53 pm

There are only 3 features that I know of that will require the country
selection AND zip code entry on the shopping cart screen:

UPS Shipping
Custom Shipping Add-on
Free Shipping

All of these are enabled in Commerce Setup -> Shipping, so go there and
make sure all of these are disabled.

-Loren


Rodney Blackwell wrote:
I just double checked and I have it set as "Use Shopper Selected Tax", which
I thought meant that the shopper just selects "I Live in California" or "I
Live Outside California".

The shopping cart screen is showing both the shopper select dropdown box and
the zip code box.

"Loren" <loren_d_c@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:d8srkl$ts2$1@eval.shopsite.com...

Do you have Tax-by-zip enabled (see Commerce Setup -> Sales Tax)? If so,
then the zip is required to calculate the sales tax.

-Loren



Rodney Blackwell wrote:

Is it possible to remove the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping
cart screen.

I have flat rate shipping enabled, so I don't need that zip code box and
it seems to clutter the checkout screen.

--
Rodney


loren_d_c
 
Posts: 2564
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:02 pm
Location: Anywhere

Re: removing the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping c

Postby Rodney Blackwell » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:55 pm

I do have free shipping enabled for US only on orders over $35...I guess
that must be it.

"Loren" <loren_d_c@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:d8ssc2$u1t$1@eval.shopsite.com...
There are only 3 features that I know of that will require the country
selection AND zip code entry on the shopping cart screen:

UPS Shipping
Custom Shipping Add-on
Free Shipping

All of these are enabled in Commerce Setup -> Shipping, so go there and
make sure all of these are disabled.

-Loren


Rodney Blackwell wrote:
I just double checked and I have it set as "Use Shopper Selected Tax",
which I thought meant that the shopper just selects "I Live in
California" or "I Live Outside California".

The shopping cart screen is showing both the shopper select dropdown box
and the zip code box.

"Loren" <loren_d_c@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:d8srkl$ts2$1@eval.shopsite.com...

Do you have Tax-by-zip enabled (see Commerce Setup -> Sales Tax)? If so,
then the zip is required to calculate the sales tax.

-Loren



Rodney Blackwell wrote:

Is it possible to remove the Ship to Zip/Postal Code from the shopping
cart screen.

I have flat rate shipping enabled, so I don't need that zip code box and
it seems to clutter the checkout screen.

--
Rodney

Rodney Blackwell
 


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests