include files -- how to edit

Questions and answers about ShopSite Custom Templates

include files -- how to edit

Postby truesdell » Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:17 am

I am new to ShopSite. Using ver 11.

I have the following line in a template:

Code: Select all
[-- include my-footer.html process --]

the path for the file 'my-footer.html' is '/ss-data/templates/includes/my-footer.html'

When I edit that file, the changes do not show up on the site.
I have flushed the cache, used different computers, etc. The change doesn't "take." The file modification date is correct on the server and if I look at the contents of that file ( less /ss-data/templates/includes/my-footer.html ) it shows my changes.

Question 1: how does the [-- include --] directive know to look in /ss-data/templates/includes/ ? Or does it? Is it looking somewhere else? Where would I change that?
Question 2: why isn't this change being read in?
Question 3: am I going against the "ShopSite Way" to edit this include file directly? If so, what's the proper procedure?
truesdell

Re: include files -- how to edit

Postby Jim » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:15 am

Question 1: how does the [-- include --] directive know to look in /ss-data/templates/includes/ ? Or does it? Is it looking somewhere else? Where would I change that?
Answer 1: The template code first checks in the data/templates/ directories for any file that is referenced. If the file is not found in that location then it looks in the sc/templates/ directories. If the file isn't found an error will either be displayed on the publish screen or a comment will be inserted in the generated html.
Question 2: why isn't this change being read in?