Submit Order causes 500 Error

General ShopSite user discussion

Submit Order causes 500 Error

Postby cpopolo » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:58 pm

We recently started experiencing 500 Errors (Internal Server error) on the Thankyou.cgi script when a user presses Submit Order to commit the order. The problem only happens when a credit card is used and does not happen if the user uses PayPal payment method. The email confirmations are sent and the order is recorded, the only issue is that the page redirect to the 500 Error is causing user confusion and might indicate some other problem we haven't yet discovered. We are on Shopsite 12.3.

Has anyone experienced this issue? Any ideas on what things we might check? My sense is that this may be a payment gateway issue.

Thanks in advance.
cpopolo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:41 pm

Re: Submit Order causes 500 Error

Postby ShopSite David » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:23 pm

Yes, most likely a payment gateway error. Have you changed any settings on the payment gateway side or in ShopSite? What gateway are you using and where are you hosted? You could turn the gateway off for now and switch to manual processing and then run the card through your gateway's virtual terminal.
-David H.
ShopSite, Inc.
http://www.shopsite.com
ShopSite David
Site Admin
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Submit Order causes 500 Error

Postby cpopolo » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:27 pm

Hi David,

That's the thing... The only payment process we have set up is PayPal. For credit cards, the payment process is set to "manual (off-line)". The PayPal process works fine - it's the manual process that generates the 500. I was misleading in my original post suggesting that the gateway might be at fault, not realizing that "manual" means that there is no gateway set up.

Any other suggestions? Is it possible to see a copy of the Thankyou.cgi script to examine the flow and see what might be going wrong?

Finally, what's involved with the 14.0 upgrade? The site is hosted by Fatcow.com, and for the 12.3 upgrade there was a one-click button. I don't see that for a 14.0 upgrade.

Since you are at Shopsite, is it possible you could inspect the error logs for the 'contesales' account to see what might be happening?

Thanks
Carl
cpopolo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:41 pm

Re: Submit Order causes 500 Error

Postby ShopSite David » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:47 am

What is the URL of your store?

The Thank-you.cgi is a compiled C program so there is not a "script" to view.

The only way to get v14 on Fatcow would be to sign up for their virtual private server offering and once they moved your store there, we could manually upgrade you to v14.

The executables run on Fatcow so we do not have access to any error logs.
-David H.
ShopSite, Inc.
http://www.shopsite.com
ShopSite David
Site Admin
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Submit Order causes 500 Error

Postby ShopSite David » Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:01 am

I see that you have been corresponding via email with us here. Let's continue that discussion. The next step is probably login access to your store so we can view how things are set up.
-David H.
ShopSite, Inc.
http://www.shopsite.com
ShopSite David
Site Admin
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Submit Order causes 500 Error

Postby ShopSite David » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:46 pm

An FYI for anyone wondering what the resolution was, there was some incorrect code in a Custom Template for the Thank-you screen. A step to take to trouble-shoot would be to temporarily select a built-in template and then see if that makes a difference.
-David H.
ShopSite, Inc.
http://www.shopsite.com
ShopSite David
Site Admin
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Utah


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DavidFoern, Exabot [Bot], fbarraza28 and 12 guests